Original Short Story – ‘Endgame’

Okay, since my last blog was kinda half-assed, I figured ‘why don’t I post another half-assed blog?’.  Because see… 2 half-assed blogs = one decent one ^_^.  Isn’t SpAZbub logic GREAT?! cheh fine, think what you want,
I DON’T CARE- NO, I DON’T!!!

/runs off and cries to superiors ar Nix.Inc.

No but seriously I’m just gonna be posting a short story I wrote one summer.  I think it was a summer program at UC Berkeley (waaay too many ‘e’s in that) I did a writing course or something- we had to write something-or-other and this is what I ended up with.

So, without further ado (is that how you spell it?)

ENDGAME

The stillness that surrounds the battleground seemed infinite.  The bitter frost hangs in the air like curtains of thorny vines, minuscule icy knives cutting mercilessly across anything that dared to travel through it. Two sides have been at war for what seemed like eternity.  Those that fall to the cold, hard ground are dragged away in fear of becoming obstacles for their remaining comrades.  The soldiers move without sound.  There is no slashing of swords or firing of guns.  The battle is as silent as the dark void that envelops it. 

The Queen, in her brilliant white armor stands amongst her army.  She cannot let herself or anyone she protects fall to her opponents; demons as black as the darkness that surrounds them.  She’s on the defensive, slowly but most definitely being forced against a wall that will do nothing but lead to her demise.  The enemy has picked off her knights and crushed her castles ruthlessly.  Her defense is diminishing.

Another soldier falls.  Another body dragged away into nothingness.  Another kill for the Queen.  She had taken it for herself, using the superior power she has over her men.  On the battlefield, she is more powerful than even her king. But it isn’t her move anymore.  Out the corner of her eye she sees the demonic figure of a knight charge at her King.  She had left him open.  Fear cuts through her like the frozen air as she swiftly moves to defend everything she stands for.  Another silent killing sends the dark knight to the hard ground and the Queen watches as it is dragged away.  

For a moment she rejoices, but only for a moment for suddenly, without warning, something pierces through her armor.  Not the cold, not fear, something beyond explanation.  She turns to see no one but herself, a mirror image. No, a shadow of herself.  It is then when she knows she has lost.  She is defeated.  She was so close to her King yet no longer able to protect him.  

The darkness continues to engulf her, seeping into every fiber of her being. The white Queen falls and her shadow takes her place.  As she is removed from the sight of the one she so fiercely protected, the first sound, a whisper that shatters the silence of the battlefield reaches each and every one of those still shrouded in the vast icy darkness.

“Checkmate.”

Pretty decent eh?  Actually, the basic idea I copied was inspired by a poem a friend of mine wrote.  I asked her if I could write it.  And she said yes. So I wrote it.  NOTHING ILLEGAL IN THAT

Ehem, anyhow- that is my second half of the half-assed blog series.  I hope it wasted at least 5 minutes of your life ^_^.

Ja, mata ne ~

 

.:PROPERTY OF NIX. INC.
Nowadays everything’s copyrighted
© …See what I mean?

~ by NiXXi on March 3, 2007.

2 Responses to “Original Short Story – ‘Endgame’”

  1. Nicki?! you have a blog too! hahah i didnt think people even wrote in blogs anymore, i'[m so excited!

  2. […] Okay, lyric time.  I wrote this during the same summer program I wrote ‘Endgame‘.  I developed a HUGE-ass, stupid crush on someone and decided to write a song about it.  […]

Comments are closed.